2022 Quick Recap

2022 Quick Recap

It's been another round trip of the earth. It's hard to remember all the things that I did in 2022. Of course, I can go through my timesheet, Google Calendar, Photos, or Map. But those are too time-consuming. I will just use two great web-app that popular lately. They are Github Unwrapped and GitHub Contributions. Both are free, you just need to input your username (or another person's username).

Github Unwrapped

Below is my 2022 GitHub Unwrapped.

There is some interesting stuff that I just realized:

  1. In 2022, I finally jump into the front-end world. I always want to do it, but never do it since it's been moving too fast and I just don't have enough time and energy to learn it on my own time. Fortunately, the opportunity came, and I took the challenge. You can see in the video, Vue is in the top 3. In my opinion, yes, there is a lot of stuff in front-end dev, but you don't need to know them all, just pick as you need. There are now tools that can help you have a better development experience. And, the lack of experience is normal. But it's fun to learn those stuff. On this project, I work on a digital twin for a city in France, using OpenLayer and Cesium (wrapped by map-core)

  2. I am still working on Python! My favorite programming language. Last year, I finally publish my super simple QGIS Plugin to load an encoded polyline into QGIS. It's useful for me to check an encoded polyline from a routing engine named Valhalla visually on QGIS. You can check the plugin here or find it in QGIS Plugin Manager.

  3. I still work on C++, which most cases are contributing to QGIS. See all of my contributions to QGIS in 2022 here. It's always fun and fulfilling to contribute to QGIS.

Those are only my public activities, and it seems GitHub Unwrapped doesn't consider private contributions because I should see more Python or TypeScript :).

GitHub Contributions

Using this tool, you can see your whole contributions since the beginning of your account. I use GitHub since 2012 and most of my work is on GitHub, that's why you can see a lot of green tiles below.

This tool is also interesting to see the pattern. I can see last year (2022), there is a big gap between the part of July and the whole of August. That is when I took a rest from my job for moving back to Indonesia.

I can tell you more about the others period of time but maybe that's not interesting for you.

Anyway, that's my quick recap of last year. An interesting year indeed. I hope this year will be more interesting.