Speaking at Python ID Jogja Meet Up

Speaking at Python ID Jogja Meet Up

The First Offline Python Jogja Meet-up Since the Pandemic

On 21 January 2023, I attended at Python ID Jogja Meet Up or we usually call it, Kopdar Python ID Jogja. This is the first offline meet-up since the pandemic hit us. In this meet-up, I share my experience with Python Usage in Open Source Geospatial. It’s not too technical talk since I was not sure that people who come are familiar with open source or geospatial.

My talk is mainly introducing open source in the geospatial world. I share some examples of how Python is used, for example creating a plugin in QGIS, developing web gis with Pyramid, GeoNode, GeoDjango, and GeoMapFish, and some popular python libraries to work with geospatial data.

You can get my presentation slide here. Unfortunately, it’s in Bahasa Indonesia and as usual, I only put the point not the full content of the talk. But you can still find the links or material that I share here.

This meet-up is hosted by DomaiNesia. I am really grateful for their hospitality and support. Please check their website if you need a domain or hosting.

A little bit of background about Python ID Jogja. It’s a Python community that is located in Yogyakarta. It was started around 2015 by Fauzan Emmerling and me. It started very simply. We picked a date, find the speaker, and promote it. We usually use om Fauzan’s start-up office as the location. It was a really nice place to hold this kind of event. It was a Joglo (a local building) with a pond near it.

Long story short, Python ID Jogja is getting bigger and bigger. Many universities, organizations, or companies offer to host the event. We have a telegram group to share about Python. And there are more people volunteering. Even after I moved to Spain and om Fauzan to Dubai. Until now :)

If you are interested in sharing your experience in the next Python ID Jogja Meet Up, you can contact me or @pyjogja.

The last thing, it’s very enjoyable to have an offline meet-up again. We can talk casually to people after the meet-up, something that is impossible when we do an online meeting. I was surprised that there are some people who are interested in developing a QGIS plugin and using it in their organization. I hope Python, QGIS, and other open-source software can be used by more and more people.

See you next meet-up!